Skip to main content

Sacramento County Government

With over 1.5 million people, Sacramento County is the 8th largest county in California. The 7 cities in the County---Citrus Heights, Elk Grove, Folsom, Galt, Isleton, Rancho Cordova and Sacramento---account for 61% of the population. Everyone else lives in unincorporated areas such as Arden Arcade.

The County has seven elected officials, all of whom serve 4-year terms: 5 supervisors, the Sheriff, the Deputy Attorney and the Assessor. The Supervisors are elected by district, whereas the other elected officials stand for election before all voters in the county.  Though not part of the governmental structure of Sacramento County, county judges of the Superior Court  are also elected. The judges serve 6-year terms.

Each of the Supervisors represents around 311,000 people.  All have unincorporated areas within their districts. Supervisors from Districts 1, 2 and 3 have portions of the City of Sacramento within their jurisdiction.  Arden Arcade is included within Supervisorial District 3 along with other unincorporated communities - Carmichael; Fair Oaks; portions of Foothill Farms, North Highlands and Antelope; and a bit of the Rosemont community between the American River and Folsom Blvd.

May contain: plot
This is the map of Supervisorial District 3 as redistricted based on the 2020 census. Arden Arcade holds around 30 percent of the population of Sacramento County’s Third Supervisorial District, which consists primarily of urbanized, unincorporated areas. East Sac west of the American River from H Street to Elvas to Power Inn was removed from the District and a big chunk of land south of the River and East of Sunrise (to Jackson Highway, Grant Line Road and Prairie City Road) was added. You can see the former map below. 


The County administration is led by a CEO and is organized in three parts:

  • Areawide services - provide throughout the County
  • Municipal Services - provided to the unincorporated area
  • Administrative Services - covering all employees.
May contain: diagram, map, atlas, plot, vegetation, plant, and bush
This is what Supervisorial District 3 USED to look like.  The growth of population from 2010 to 2020 resulted in the people east of Sunrise and South of Highway 50 being added to the District, which further watered-down Arden Arcade's representation.
Join our mailing list